HomeBlogIGNOU BSc Physics Syllabus

IGNOU BSc Physics Syllabus

IGNOU Syllabus | IGNOU BSc Physics Syllabus Structure | IGNOU Bachelors Syllabus | IGNOU BSc Physics Books – Students who are looking for their syllabus structure of IGNOU BSc Physics programme can get their complete syllabus from this page. We must inform you about the credit system which is available for the new syllabus. Each of the courses is provided with the appropriate credit.

During the time of seeking admission, candidates are required to choose their respective credit courses. For completing the IGNOU BSc Physics Course (Bachelor of Science in Physics), candidates need to choose these credit courses in each of these semesters or every year. Many courses are available at the same time for the selection of the BSc Physics course. Some of these courses are compulsory while some of them are optional courses.

IGNOU BSc Physics Syllabus (Updated)

Course Code Course Name Total Credits
BPHE-101 Elementary Mechanics 2
BPHE-102 Oscillations and Waves 2
BPHL-103 Physics Laboratory-l 4
BPHE-104 Mathematical Methods in Physics-l 2
PHE-5 Mathematical Methods in Physics-ll 2
BPHE-106 Thermodynamics and Statistical Mechanics 4
PHE-7 Electric and Magnetic Phenomena 4
PHE-8L Physics Laboratory-ll 4
PHE-9 Optics 4
PHE-10 Electrical Circuits and Electronics 4
PHE-11 Modern Physics 4
PHE-12L Physics Laboratory-lll 4
PHE-13 Physics of Solids 4
PHE-14 Mathematical Methods in Physics-lll 4
PHE-15 Astronomy and Astrophysics 4
PHE-16 Communication Physics 4


  • BPHE-101, PHE-4 and PHE-5 are pre-requisite for PHE-11
  • PHE-11 is prerequisite for PHE-13
  • PHE-7 is a prerequisite for PHE-16
  • PHE-10 is a co-requisite for PHE-16
  • For BSc Major or Honours Degree in Physics, candidates must choose a total of 48 credit worth courses within 3-year duration (16 credits each year).
  • BPHE-104 and PHE-5 are prerequisite for PHE-14
  • BPHE-101, 102 must be taken together and BHHE-104, PHE-5 must be taken together.

After every few years, the university updates its old syllabus in order to be updated with the time. The syllabus of IGNOU BSc Physics is changed on the basis of future goals for students, that’s why the IGNOU removes the old syllabus with the new one or get that updated according to the level. The university changes or updates their syllabus at any time without prior notice to the candidates. So, keeping that in mind, ignoutv.in providing the latest and updated syllabus structure to our IGNOU BSc Physics students so they must also remain updated with time.

Also, Check- IGNOU Syllabus 2020-21 (Updated)

Bachelor of Science in Physics – Syllabus Structure

We will provide you with the complete syllabus structure of BSc Physics here in this page itself. The syllabus will be provided in semester wise including the name of the chapters of IGNOU BSc Physics Books (Bachelor of Science in Physics). This will help our candidates to make the decision regarding the examination, whether they wanna appear for it or not. It’s totally up to them. The name of the subjects with the name of the chapters will help you to choose your preferred field for studying for the examination. The syllabus structure of BSc Physics can also be checked before you take admission for this course who all are confused. So, we recommend our candidates to check out their syllabus of BSc Physics on time.

Previous article
Next article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read